MINUTES OF CEREMONIAL COUNCIL

Friday, 17 May 2019 (7:00 - 7:45 pm)

PRESENT

Cllr Sanchia Alasia (Chair)
Cllr Elizabeth Kangethe (Deputy Chair)

Cllr Andrew Achilleos Cllr Abdul Aziz Cllr Sade Bright Cllr Peter Chand Cllr John Dulwich Cllr Cameron Geddes Cllr Kashif Haroon Cllr Eileen Keller Cllr Olawale Martins Cllr Dave Miles Cllr Simon Perry Cllr Tony Ramsay Cllr Ingrid Robinson Cllr Emily Rodwell Cllr Dominic Twomey Cllr Maureen Worby	Cllr Dorothy Akwaboah Cllr Toni Bankole Cllr Laila M. Butt Cllr Josie Channer Cllr Edna Fergus Cllr Syed Ghani Cllr Jane Jones Cllr Mohammed Khan Cllr Mick McCarthy Cllr Margaret Mullane Cllr Moin Quadri Cllr Chris Rice Cllr Paul Robinson Cllr Muhammad Saleem Cllr Lee Waker	Cllr Saima Ashraf Cllr Princess Bright Cllr Evelyn Carpenter Cllr Faruk Choudhury Cllr Irma Freeborn Cllr Rocky Gill Cllr Amardeep Singh Jamu Cllr Donna Lumsden Cllr Giasuddin Miah Cllr Glenda Paddle Cllr Foyzur Rahman Cllr Lynda Rice Cllr Darren Rodwell Cllr Faraaz Shaukat Cllr Phil Waker
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Cllr Bill Turner

1. Declaration of Members' Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

2. Minutes (25 May 2018)

The minutes of the two meetings held on 23 May 2018 were confirmed as correct.

3. Appointment of Mayor 2019/20

The Chair asked for nominations for the appointment of Mayor for the 2019/20 municipal year.

Councillor D. Rodwell moved and Councillor Keller seconded the nomination of Councillor Peter Chand as Mayor. Several other Councillors also spoke in support of the nomination.

The Assembly **resolved** that Councillor Peter Chand be duly elected Mayor of the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham for the municipal year 2019/20.

The incoming and outgoing mayoral parties left the Chamber and, on returning, Councillor Chand took the Chair.

Councillor Chand returned thanks for his election as Mayor and announced that Ginger Chand and Christine Chand would be his Mayoresses, Ravi Chand would be his Consort and Bishop Trevor Mwanda would be his religious advisor for the ensuing municipal year.

Votes of thanks were made to the retiring Mayor, Councillor Sanchia Alasia, her Consort, Victor Alasia, and the Mayoresses, Princess Bright and Dara Badejo. Commemorative badges were also presented.

4. Appointment of Young Mayor 2019/20

The Chief Executive advised that Joshua Singh-Hill had been appointed by the BAD Youth Forum as the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham Young Mayor for 2019/20.

The Chief Executive introduced the new Young Mayor and invited him to address the meeting.

The Leader then took the opportunity to thank the retiring Young Mayor, Wesley Operaugo, for the able manner in which he had discharged the duties of Young Mayor during 2018/19 and invited him to address the meeting.